Sarah McKoin

Dr. Sarah McKoin serves as the Director of Bands, Professor of Music and Chair of the conducting area at Texas Tech University. Her responsibilities include Conductor and Musical Director of the TTU Symphonic Wind Ensemble, administrating the graduate program in wind conducting, pedagogy and wind literature, while overseeing all facets of the university band program which include 5 concert bands, the 400-member Goin’ Band and other athletic bands.  Under Dr. McKoin’s direction, the Symphonic Wind Ensemble has been featured at the Midwest Clinic, the Texas Music Educators Association Conference, the North American Saxophone Alliance conference and multiple College Band Directors National Association Southwest regional conferences. 

Dr. McKoin’s ensemble has recorded for Naxos and Albany on world premiere recordings of the wind music of Chen Yi and Narong Prangcharoen and she has been involved in numerous consortiums and premieres of modern wind works.  A world premiere recording of Israeli American composer Avner Dorman’s wind music is in the early stages of production.

Active as a guest conductor and clinician, Dr. McKoin has traveled extensively throughout the United States and abroad.  She has worked in China, Taiwan, Thailand, Canada, and Israel where she served as producer for the world premiere recording of Roberto Sierra's Fantasia Correliana with the Castellani-Andriaccio guitar duo and Israeli Chamber Orchestra.

 Prior to her appointment at Texas Tech, Professor McKoin held appointments

University of Missouri-Kansas City Conservatory of Music,  the State University of New York at Buffalo and SUNY Fredonia. Additionally, McKoin spent nine summers in residence on the conducting faculty at the Brevard Music Center in Brevard, North Carolina.  She has served as President of the Southwest Division of the College Band Director's National Association as well as President of the Big 12 Band Director’s Association.  She is a member of the Texas Music Educators Association, Texas Bandmasters Association, Phi Beta Mu, Pi Kappa Lambda and holds honorary memberships in Kappa Kappa Psi and Tau Beta Sigma.